When in BuDa – 2016.13

Life is one big road with lots of signs. So when you riding through the ruts, don’t complicate your mind. Flee from hate, mischief and jealousy. Don’t bury your thoughts, put your vision to reality. Wake up and Live! – Bob Marley

Perhaps you’re wondering why I am calling it BuDa, basically I went to Bukidnon and Davao. Yes you read it right too bad I wasn’t able to explore the place. I was just literally dropped off at Quezon, Bukidnon and found my way hitchhikingย a motorcycle back to Davao. HAHA

Anyway,ย let me start by telling you all that my BuDa experience was by far the cheapest journey I’ve had. Spent roughly around PHP 3,000 only ALL IN! ๐Ÿ˜€

How?

Guess I’ve been so good these past few days that I was lucky enough to met such beautiful people along my journey that makes it quite memorable for me. Though at first I wasn’t planning on pursuing the trip but I’m glad I did it. Shout outs to my wonderful hosts Mira and Yuell << no picture together ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

ย CAMERA

20161126_075246-01
with MIRA

Well, my flight was delayed and arrived almost 12 midnight. It was my first time visiting the place and know nothing about. Haven’t done my research enough. Well, I say take risks and bring it on Davao! ๐Ÿ˜„

CAMERA
Inside Davao International Airport

Soon as I arrived, I was looking for food too bad you can’t find food within the vicinity so had to approached a soldier and asked them regarding my concern. I ended up at McDonald’s – Buhangin branch with a lady (Ate Ging as she said). We had the same flight and she’s bound for South Cotabato however buses to their place starts to depart from Davao around three in the morning so basically she needs a place where she can stay until 03:00. She’s thinking of staying in the airport just what I am thinking but I am hungry and also, no one’s allowed to stay in the airport for too long. She looked so stressed that I tagged her along with meย so we can grab something to eat.

Our cab driver was kind of pissed since I just told him to drop us off at a nearby McDonald’s, I mean no offense there’s a lot of McDonald’s but I don’t know which one is near the airport and it’s my first time.๐Ÿ˜…

CAMERA
With Ate Ging (a local from South Cotabato)

When we arrived at McDonald’s, I asked her if she’s hungry but she said she’s not. Looking at her, I didn’t bother to order a chicken meal for both of us. Right then, she told me that one of her family member died and that she went home to look for money. I was hesitant at first still I consoled her. Around 01:00 my host, Mira was already awake, as much as I want to bring her and let her rest for a few hours I can’t since I don’t want my host to be shock instead I just gave her a few bucks before we parted.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The next day came, I boarded a passenger boat bound for Talicud Island and stayed at Isla Reta. Stayed for almost two hours there and head straight to the public boat 100 meters away. Just when I arrived the boat already left ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™€ it’s either pay the boat or wait for other passengers, of course I don’t want to waste my money so I did wait for other passengers and waited for almost two hours. ๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ‘Ž

Then arrived at Kaputian, Samal Island. โ˜บ I contacted Kuya Din (motorcycle driver/ guide +63906 7951598). He was very nice because he waited for me for two hours at the port. ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™ˆโœŒ if I were in his shoes, perhaps I left already HAHA

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

He told me he almost not believed me when I sent him a message at two AM. ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ but anyway, he still contacted me which was a good thing.

He toured me around Samal Island despite having few hours left. I was able to visit some of the spots and the others I forgot though I wasn’t able to visit Mt. Puting Bato as I was running out of time.

Before 18:00 I boarded the RORO boat going back to Davao and met my other host Yuell.:) he welcomed me to his house and forced me to eat durian โœŒโœŒ๐Ÿ™ˆ nah, challenged I say.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then we head out and toured around the city. We went to places I forgot the names ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ™€ oh! Remembered a few — Mansion House, SM Lanang, Damosa Street, People’s Park, Jack’s Ridge, Chinatown.

Although I was a bit sad since we weren’t able to go to the places we planned on going however I was glad because he still made time to meet me and tour around the city. He even let me meet few of his friends, thank you friend. I’ll definitely see you soon! ;)โค

Another day arrives and I have nothing much to do. I was very indecisive as to where’s my next destination. Mira, my very approachable host gave me an idea as to where to go.

I took a jeep going to the bus terminal: Ecoland looking for buses and the signs. HAHA was contemplating as to where to go eventhough I had an idea already but my mind was distracted as to Mati or Bukidnon. Hmm..

CAMERA
boarded a CDO bound bus no exact place as to where to go

Oh well, rode the bus bound for Cagayan de Oro without a place in mind as to where to stop. The conductor was pissed already or fuming because of me. HAHA ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™ˆโœŒ he already gave tickets to everyone except me because I can’t tell him where to be drop off. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ I was asking him how far CDO and Bukidnon was but he didn’t answer me. Perhaps he was annoyed already. I kept on searching through google and you see Bukidnon and CDO’s tourist spots aren’t so near from each other. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ that’s when I told him to drop me off somewhere in Bukidnon and he was like, “where in Bukidnon?” And I was like, “huh? ๐Ÿ˜ฉ๐Ÿ˜ฐ:o” ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ but oh well he just issued me a ticket and walked away from me. I didn’t even know where I’d be drop off. ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ™ˆโœŒ

Almost 4 hours, the bus stops and the conductor said referring to me, “Hey! This is Bukidnon, your stop.” As obedient as I can be, I followed what he said and walked out of the bus and then the bus sped off.

Looking at my surroundings, it was just trees and some construction men few meters away from me. I approached them and asked how I can get to the Blue Water Cave and they said it’s still quite far. Uh-oh! ๐Ÿ˜ฎThey were dumbfounded on my idea telling the conductor to drop me off anywhere as long as it’s Bukidnon. They said, I should’ve mentioned Blue water cave so they can drop me somewhere nearer too bad it was late. ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜

Few minutes of chatting I decided I’d go back to Davao instead since it’s afternoon and I don’t want to waste my already wasted time. ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜ ย I hitchhiked a motorcycle who’s on his way to Arakan and less than an hour I was in the outskirts of Davao.

I walked my way around, captivated by the place since it was cold and so green. It reminded me of Baguio and having a cold place means the best place to have a foodtrip. Yayy!๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I first stopped at an Italian Restaurant (La Toscana) but weren’t able to take a picture since it’s quite crowded so I opted to walked more then stopped at Reel Place (bulalohan house), then to the next place Wildberry Cafe where I met the owner Sir Jim and two engineers I forgot theirs names. ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™ˆโœŒ we talked a bit, about politics and ME and how I am traveling solo. ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™€

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I excuse myself to buy some souvenirs and they told me to get back soon as I’m done buying. Once I’m finished, I went back to Wildberry Cafe and we chatted again. They asked me where’s my next destination, I told them how I’m going to stay for more hours to explore the place and look for good food. HAH! ๐Ÿ˜ As much as I wanted to accept the other engineer’s offer to adopt me for an overnight stay in CDO with his family I opted to stay. ๐Ÿ™€๐Ÿ™€ I bid good bye to Sir Jim and the other engineer drove me to Seagull Mountain Resort and assisted me inside without any entrance fee. **happy dance**

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

toured around the place then went to Cicada Hills which is just in front of Seagull resort and last stop before we parted was at Highway 81. I can’t thank him enough, I invited him to the cafe but he insisted so I was left alone again. ๐Ÿ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At Cafe Binukid which is found inside Highway 81, most of the meals are for sharing. Unlucky me I was all by myself so I just look for a good place to sit and admired the beauty without ordering. ๐Ÿ˜• few minutes and there was already food on my table. Like, WOW!!

I divulged into my food and kept on admiring the place that I forgot it’s already 19:00. Before I leave, I went to the cashier and asked for my bill too bad ‘Nanay’ said it’s on the house. Wuhooo!! So much for being a free loader huh? ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ย ๐ŸŽ†ย 

I left the place with a happy stomach and a happy heart as well. Too much kindness for the day. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Went back to Davao and met up my long long virtual friend, Judel and his family at Roxas Market. After 3 years, I got to see him. :mrgreen:๐Ÿ˜

15267761_10208970838846033_127474231565523463_n
with Judel (my virtual brother)

Basically, those were the highlights of my trip to BuDa, one for the books I’d say. Too much goodness in there. I’ll repay you one day. Thank you BuDa!! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿ‘

20161126_080749.jpg
Thank you Davao City! ๐Ÿ˜‰

SAMPLE ITINERARY

Day 0
2330 – ETA Francis Bangoy Int’l Airport
0000 – McDonald’s – Buhangin
0100 – ETA accommodation

Day 1
0700 – wake up/ wash up
0800 – ETA Sta. Ana port
0930 – ETD to Talicud Island
1030 – ETA Talicud Island
1045 – Checked in at Isla Reta Beach Resort
1430 – ETD Kaputian, Samal Island
1450 – ETA Kaputian, Samal Island
1500 – Tour around Samal
1700 – ETD Samal Wharf
1730 – ETA Samal Wharf
1800 – Met up with my host, Yuell
1830 – a Bit of City Tour my host
0030 – back to accommodation

Day 2
0700 – wake up/ wash up
0730 – ETA Ecoland Bus Terminal
0830 – ETD Bukidnon
1330 – ETA Bukidnon
1430 – ETA Buda, Davao (food trip)
2000 – ETD Davao City
2145 – ETA Ecoland Bus Terminal
2200 – ETA Roxas Avenue (Roxas Night Market)
2300 – Accommodation

ACTUALย BUDGET BREAKDOWN:

Accommodation –ย Free c/o my oh so wonderful host, Mira โ™ฅ viaย Couchsurfing

Transportation

VEHICLE DESCRIPTION RATE TOTAL
Airplane MNL-DVO-MNL AIRFARE VIA AIRASIA 0.02 PHP PHP 351.22
Cab Airport to McDo-Buhangin PHP 100.00
Cab Mcdo-Buhangin to Accom PHP 70.00
Tricycle Accom to Assumption PHP 7.00
Jeepney Assumption to Magsaysay Park (Sta. Ana port) PHP 8.00
Passenger boat Sta. Ana port to Talicud Island via Joperson PHP 80.00
Passenger boat Talicud Island to Kaputian, Samal Island PHP 40.00 FREE
Passenger boat Samal Island to Samal Wharf PHP 10.00
Tricycle Samal Island short tour c/o Kuya Din PHP 500.00
Jeep, Tricycle A bit of Davao City evening tour (Downtown OLD & NEW, mansion house, SM Lanang, Damosa Street, People’s Park, Jack’s Ridge, Chinatown) PHP 100.00
Cab Chinatown to accommodation PHP 60.00
Jeep 7eleven to Ecoland PHP 10.00
A/C bus Ecoland to Quezon, Bukidnon PHP 165.00
Motorcyle Quezon, Bukidnon to Buda, Davao FREE
A/C bus Buda, Davao to Ecoland Terminal PHP 165.00
Cab Ecoland Terminal to Roxas Avenue PHP 90.00
Cab Roxas Avenue to accommodation PHP 70.00
Jeepney Water District to Damosa Mcdo PHP 7.00
Cab Damosa Mcdo to Airport PHP 60.00
TOTAL PHP 1,853.22

Activity

DESCRIPTION RATE TOTAL
Isla Reta Beach Resort PHP 100 PHP 50
Viewing Deck – Samal PHP 10 FREE
Hagimit Falls – samal PHP 45 FREE
Bat Cave – Samal PHP 100 FREE
Mansion’s House – Roseville PHP 30 FREE
Seagull Mountain Resort PHP 150 FREE
TOTAL PHP 50

Food

DESCRIPTION RATE TOTAL
Chicken Meal – Mcdo PHP 99 PHP 198
C2 PHP 25
Moby PHP 15
Meal at a Carinderia PHP 50
Meal at Isla Reta PHP 150 FREE
Meal at Goldilocks PHP 129
Canton w/ Coke in can at Reel Place ย PHP 145 FREE
Suman w/ Hot Choco at Wildberry Cafรฉ PHP 85 FREE
Ham & Cheese Sandwich at Cafรฉ Binukid PHP 120 FREE
Four Seasons Juice in Can PHP 45 FREE
Kalabasa Fries FREE
Breakfast Meal – Mcdo PHP 129
2 Kilos of Pomelo (5 pcs) PHP 90
Durian Candies (3 plastics) PHP 100
TOTAL PHP 736

ย Miscellaneous

DESCRIPTION TOTAL
Davao Terminal Fee PHP 200
Souvenirs (ref magnet and key chains) PHP 250
ย TOTAL PHP 450

REMINDERS:

1. I’m not sure if everyone’s aware but I can tell you that Davao City is really a safe place after all. I walked through the streets of Davao having my camera on the open side pockets of my bag as well as my mobile phone and after hours of walking its still on the side pockets just how I put them.
2.ย When your flight is late in the evening, make sure you’ll have dinner before boarding the plane or a packed food as there are no restaurants outside the airport of Davao.
3. Most establishments closes at 10 in the evening don’t worry there are fast food stores and convenience stores that are open 24 hours.
4. The locals are so nice. Haven’t been to such kind place or perhaps I’m just lucky enough to met those beautiful people.
5. Transportation wise — the drivers (cab, jeep, tricycle, motorcyle) are not rude and very accommodating. They ask you the exact fare and gives you the change even if it’s 50 centavos. ๐Ÿ™‚
6. When in Davao, plan ahead of the places you want to check out as Davao City itself is big. A Day or two won’t let you be able to tour the entire Davao City.
7. Samal Island is quite big too, perhaps a day in the island or an overnight stay will satisfy you.
6. Haven’t toured the entire Talicud Island but I guess half day will do.
9. When you plan on going to Samal Island and Talicud Island in same day make sure you start with Samal Island first basing from my experienced I went to Talicud Island first and was waiting for hours for the boat to depart to Samal Island that wasted a bit of my time unless you’ll pay the entire boat then you’ll arrive Samal Island fast.
10. Check the weather first when going on a place so you’d know what to bring and pack in that bag of yours.
11. Davao has two government sea ports: Sasa Port and Sta. Ana port and these twoare 30 minutes away from each other, make sure you know which port you’re going to go so it won’t waste your time.
12. Research on the place and its rules so you’d be aware of what NOT to do upon arriving on the said place.

Safe Travels my wanderers!! See you on the roads. ^_^

 

Leave a Reply

